Just stop, and think, for just 1 second

Do you ever sit down and realise what is happening in the present? I sometimes feel like I am living my life, without actually realising what is happening, and what has happened.

If you are thinking

“what in gods name is she talking about?”

which, I’m sure you are. Let me take you back a few steps.

Last night I was sitting down, whilst watching McLeods Daughters re-runs (LOVE that show!) and I thought to myself,

“What do you have to do tomorrow Nicky?”

My response, to myself, was

8:00 – 12:00pm – WORK
(I work at a swimming academy as a Learn to Swim Instructor for kids from about 3 years to 12 years)

Nicky Mitchell Blog 2

12:30 – Sushi lunch date with my friend Rianna

1:30pm – Go to the Residential Colleges and pick up a key to my new flat for my Residential Advisor (RA) position.

I then GASPED to myself. NO WAY, you are not actually an RA now are you??! (for those who are unaware of what an RA is, they are students employed by the Colleges, someone who is in charge of pastoral care of residents, especially the Freshers).  This means I get a room twice the size of everyone else in return for my services.

I am so overwhelmed that I gained this position, after the fairly gruesome 2000 word written application and 30 minute interview.

After I composed myself with the realisation of the responsibilities and position I am going to hold at Concannon College next year, the next thing hit me.  I had to study for my Law exam on the 29th of this month. That voice screamed at me again

“You are NOT studying law are you? And are you really HALFWAY through your degree?”

A shiver runs down my spine at the fact that it will all be over in 2 years. And if they go as quickly as the last 2 have, it will be happening before I know it.  I don’t ever want to wish my days away, however, I wouldn’t mind them taking a bit longer so that I can prepare myself.

I remember like it was yesterday not knowing what I wanted to do when I graduated school.  It’s been over 2 years since I walked out the gates of school, and to be honest, I am pretty happy I don’t have to go back.  With year 12’s from 2012 starting to get QTAC offers, I cross my fingers that if given the chance, they take the plunge and not only go to USQ, but move onto Residential Colleges.  And I am not crossing my fingers for myself, I am crossing for them.  That they would get the chance to experience living on campus, just like I have. If I was to write about why someone should live on college, I’d be here all night.  All I can say, is if you are given the possibility that college is an option for you, then just do it. And if you are sitting on the fence about whether to or not, and which college to choose, I have 5 words for you.

Nicole Mitchell Blog 2

 

Last night, I became suddenly overwhelmed with what has occurred in my life throughout the past 2 years, and what is to be expected in this year.  Its daunting yes, saddening yes, but most of all, its exciting.

As I conclude this blog, I’ll lighten the mood with some outtakes from my quest to get the best image for the Phoenix T-Shirt Competition, hope I win!

IMG_3499IMG_3488IMG_3486IMG_3484IMG_3473Nicky Mitchell Blog 2

Bring on 2013, may you be the best year yet.

Until next time,

Nicky

This entry was posted in Concannon, Nicky, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , by Nicky. Bookmark the permalink.

About Nicky

My name is Nicole Mitchell, however you can call me Nicky. I am your far from average 19 year old female uni student studying at the University of Southern Queensland in Toowoomba. I am currently enrolled in a Bachelor of Laws, and am about to commence my 3rd year in 2013. I am lucky to have been born with the gift of the gab. I have lived on campus at Concannon College for the past 2 years and I couldn’t imagine spending my days as a student any other way. I have met people from all different backgrounds and avenues of life, and made memories that will last me a lifetime. I am from what from the country folk call “the big smoke’, also known as Brisbane City. Before I moved to Toowoomba the busy city lifestyle was all I’d ever known. People often call me crazy, and ask why I chose USQ, and I tell them all the same story (This will come later, you will have to keep reading my blogs to find out). It was spontaneous, however the say the best things in life aren’t planned don’t they? Its always awkward to write about yourself, but for you, I will do my best. If one of my friends was asked to describe me I think(and hope) words that would come up would be happy, talkative, humorous, nice and most of all, FUN! I don’t do boring. I believe that life is short, so live for the moment and enjoy yourself. Well there you have it, the 411 on yours truly. Thankyou very much for taking the time to read it and watch this space. Keep smiling! Nicky

Leave a Reply

