#success

At present, I am just about to start a clinical for uni at the Royal Children’s Hospital – the main focus being mental health.

This is getting me thinking about mental health in general, and how our western culture, with our constant exposure to technology and media affects our mental health.

laura blog 3

To my mind, it seems as though many young people – some of whom I’m friends with, are on anti-depressant medication, along with scores of other pills aimed at making one happy. To me, it seems to be a loosing battle because our society has very specific guidelines, if you are to take subliminal messages at face value.

“Girls should weight this much, have their hair in this manor, wear these clothes and have this many friends. Then they will be beautiful”

It might not be something we’re conscious of, but its most definitely there. The other thing that I have noticed is that everywhere we look; there are subliminal messages that we need to be ‘successful’ in order to have a good life and be a good person.

This week, I wanted to look at success; how I view it and how others advise we obtain the increasingly desirable, and yet ever elusive ‘success’.

Laura blog 3

I’ve read books and articles on the theory of success. All say the same thing, which is very aptly summarized in the above picture.

Success is not necessarily determined by how much money one has. In order to say that one has been ‘successful’ in life, one must first have a goal to reach, without a goal, there can be no success. An example of this could be that the boy sitting next to you in class wants to be a business tycoon when he gets older. Everything that I have read states that if he writes what he wants to be when he is older and the steps he must follow to attain that goal then he greatly increases his chances of becoming the person he wants to be. Simply thinking them, saying them out loud, or even writing them on a computer is not enough. Writing your goals on paper, gives them life that is not the same as simply speaking the words aloud.

 He might write – ‘I want to be a business tycoon when I’m older. This means that I have to do accounting in high school, and then a business course at uni or tafe, I have to read business magazines once a week, and pay attention to the things that other people do and say so that I know what they want and can make good business decisions.

This is pretty fair afield from my goals. I didn’t write a long-term goal quite like the one above, I wrote an ‘In 5 Years goal, which basically said,

“In five years, I want to have graduated Uni and be travelling the world and helping people,”

easy to achieve and what I want to do.

If someone were to ask me what I though success was, I’d say something along the lines of,

“We were all born on this planet for a reason, and that reason is to make the planet better for those who follow, and to be successful we have to make the planet a better place”

I’m sure there are people who would say that we were born to give birth or that there are far more complicated reasons, but that about sums it up for me.

images

But how is any of this relevant to university? My advise to those just starting is to set goals and strive to achieve them. But don’t set goals you know you’ll just ignore. Perhaps set a goal for one semester that states,

“ I’ll pass all of my courses this semester. If I get better – fantastic, if I just pass, then I have succeeded.”

But make sure to leave time for friends, family and relaxation because without downtime it is easy to give up on one’s goals.

IMG_1037

 I hope I’ve given you something to think about,

Cheers all,

Laura

This entry was posted in Laura, Steele Rudd, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , by Laura. Bookmark the permalink.

About Laura

I was born in the hustle and bustle of Brisbane, mid winter, some 19 years ago. Since that day, I've had the pleasure of a pretty enjoyable life. I've done a fair bit of travelling, and no-where near enough snow skiing as I would like. My name is Laura, and despite my intense desire for a nickname since grade 8, I have always been known as such. As you may have guessed, I spent my youth in Brisbane. When I graduated school, I wanted a change, and so I left the comforts of home and headed into the perceived wilderness of a rural setting. Of course, when I arrived I realized it was nothing like what my friends had made me believe. However, I was just about the only Brisbanite living in my college so it made for a vast change in conversation topics. As I alluded to earlier, I am a passionate skier. A good skier however, well, that can be debated. I’m rather uncoordinated, much to my eternal disgrace. I enjoy bushwalking, and reading and very occasionally, cooking – so long as its something sweet and I can lick the spoons. At University, I study Nursing full-time, and am nearly finished my second year of the three-year course. I hope you like my rambles of college life, and perhaps I will see you around.

Leave a Reply

