Harlem Shakes & Protein Shakes

“You’re only up to fifteen push ups, you biscuit eater!” 

I’m back at college early from the holidays to begin my Residential Advisor training.   The lessons are difficult, but I must be strong to walk the path of the RA.  I squeeze out a final push up, wipe the dirt from my face and begin to stand but I am knocked back down.

“It took you half an hour to complete lockup?  Not good enough, maggot.  No dinner for you tonight.  From this point onwards, you are only to eat protein shakes, falcon eggs and rocks.”

Just kidding guys, the real training I’m doing has more air conditioning and power point presentations.  It went for a week and a bit and was a great opportunity to meet the people I’ll be liaising with in 2013.  We also had two days of team building out at the Murphy’s Creek Campsite, which was fantastic.  We slept in large military-style tents and had the opportunity to try a Mid Ropes course, a flying fox and partake in many team building activities.  My highlight of the camp, however, was scaring the pants off everyone in the dark.  Last year, my mother had invested in a dinner plate sized, remote-controlled robotic hairy spider to give to me for my birthday.  Needless to say, I took him for a walk through the tents while everyone was playing cards and preparing for bed.  Fun times.

After training on the calendar was Orientation week at college.  It was packed full of great activities like the inter-college toga trivia night, the pub crawl, red frog visits and many more.  Aside from the joy of seeing all the old faces again, we were joined by a fantastic new group of freshers; I’m really looking forward to spending the year with them.  To summarise some of the highlights, here’s a few pictures with stories from the week that was.  I’ve also included two Harlem shake videos we put together – Look out for more mint vids from the colleges coming soon!

2013-02-03 09.00.20

New room! Loving the couch to bits.

2013-02-21 13.49.03

Took my good friend Josh (He’s 6’5) to Jay Jays, and he’s a bit tall for the change room.  This is his ‘not impressed’ face.

photo (3)

Classic Red Frogs visit.  As always, they supply the pancakes, soft drink and UNO cards. Along with playing cards and hanging out, they are endeavoring to teach us noobs to master the art of skateboarding.

photo (2)

Some of the freshers we have the pleasure of living with as of 2013.  A good looking, well mannered bunch if I say so myself.

Onesies

The latest order of onesies for the colleges! If you are unaware, a onesie is a fluffy jumpsuit in the form of an animal to keep one cuddly and warm during the winter.  And we all know that winter is coming.

Harlem shake at Toga Trivia: The magnificent starting dance can be credited to the skilled Thomas Hooley.

Second Harlem shake in Brodie’s room.  Yours truly is responsible for the first thirty seconds.  Also, it’s interesting to note how many people it is possible to fit inside a standard college room.

I’ll conclude with a quote from Arnold Schwarzenegger to encourage all those re-commencing their studies this year.  Feel free to read it in his voice and add an “All be bock” or “Hasta la vista baby” at the end.

“What we face may look insurmountable.  But I learned something from all those years of training and competing.  I learned something from all those sets and reps when I didn’t think I could lift another ounce of weight.  What I learned is that we are always stronger than we know.”

One thought on “Harlem Shakes & Protein Shakes

Leave a Reply

