Parents, Ambassadors and Onesies

Most parents would generally be worried about the intense shenanigans that their kids carry on with when they leave home for college.  I however, have the opposite problem.  After shifting back to college, I received a text message from my mother with a friendly reminder that I had left one of my T-shirts at home.  (At this point I’d like to make readers aware that I enjoy a very wide spectrum of music genres and have a ridiculous collection of shirts to match.)    It came with this picture.

2013-02-13 12.03.39

A few days later I receive a second MMS text from my grandparents who have just recently moved into a retirement village.

2013-02-10 14.34.18 I have a hunch I won’t get the shirt back for a while, haha.  The point I’d like to make is not to forget about your family while you’re away.  Keep in contact and remind them that you love them even if they knock off your band tees.  As well as phone calls and snapchat, I’ve invested in a large pack of Doctor Who postcards to keep in touch with the parents through snail mail.

(Why can’t we send postcards via raven yet?)

While I’ve been studying, I’ve also been avidly working as a Student Ambassador (or a student am-badass-ador, in my case).  I visited my first school a few weeks back, and it was great to speak to the next generation of potential uni students.  You do, inevitably however, get these sorts of questions thrown at you. “So Steph, if I went to uni… What would be the easiest course to study?” A few things came to mind to say.  I could have said my degree, science.

Everyone knows it has explosions, dissections, titrations and intense fun times, but it can be a bit of a brain-melter.  I could have said ‘Have you ever been on the internet, little bro?’ or said arts, but despite all the fun that the arts students have, there is much associated hard work and long hours that come with the glory.  And so, with those thoughts in mind, I said: “Winemaking is the easiest course, little bro.”  Just kidding! What I really said was: “A course is only going to be easy for you if you enjoy it.  If you are motivated and want to learn, things go much more smoothly.”

Some other activities I’ve been involved with through the student ambassador’s program include:

  • Assisting with the car parking for the graduation ceremony
  • Working on the USQ stall at a local school fair running ‘The Engineering Bike’
  • The science experience day
  • Working on the USQ information evening stall at Grand Central

I’ve also had a mad chance to drive the USQ car (‘They see me rollin’, they wavin politely in my direction’).

It’s been great fun so far, and I’d recommend it to anyone who is keen to earn a bit of spare cash whilst working with an energetic, fun team representing and promoting USQ to the public.  Ambassador intake will commence once again in 2014 – A great chance for new second years who know their way around the university.

Just in case you haven’t noticed, USQ has also been running the #success campaign.  Last week I entered a picture of myself “fighting crime while studying” into the competition on the USQ facebook page  (Don’t tell anyone about my secret identity, guys!).   I shared the picture with many friends and asked people to vote for me, and if you are the person with the most votes at the end of each week, you can win a onesie.  And thus, by the end of the week, I had won a ONESIE!.  I can confirm that it is amazingly comfortable and you can sleep in it.  So get your photos in guys!

The competition is but young, and you stand a good chance of winning if you can get your votes up. See below for some photos of what I’ve been up to.  Thanks to Simon’s Freelance Photography for the great pictures.  For more photos, see his facebook here.

I’ll conclude with a quote from Michelangelo.  Reading it in the voice of the ninja turtle is optional.

“The great danger for most of us is not that our aim is too high and we miss, but that it is too low and we achieve it”          – Michelangelo

3 thoughts on “Parents, Ambassadors and Onesies

  1. Can I simply say what a comfort to discover somebody who truly knows what they are discussing online.
    You certainly understand how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    More and more people must read this and understand this side of your story.
    I was surprised you’re not more popular because you certainly possess the gift.

  2. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website
    yourself or did you hire someone to do it for
    you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would
    like to know where u got this from. many thanks

Leave a Reply

