College Survival Tips

So, today I spent a few hours thinking of things I thought people would find interesting, while keeping it related to University and College (Steele Rudd college). Because this is my last year, I’ll try to pass on some guide-lines or “survival tips” that I’ve learnt from both college and university life. Don’t worry, it’s not going to be the usual ‘make sure you submit your assignments on time’ lecture, but rather things that I have learned in the early stages of Uni and things I wish I learned sooner than I actually did.

Firstly, invest time in yourself. I see it all too often on college, people needing approval and be liked by other people. While this alone is not a bad thing, those who try too hard for approval often get distracted from their important goal, which for most of us is to achieve a university degree. While wanting to constantly be in the social loop is not terrible, you will either: a) achieve your goal but not to your full potential, or b) become a copycat that everyone loves rather than drawing people who are interested in you.

Secondly, don’t be that guy who has these amazing ideas with no action to follow. The world is full of people like that and I believe it says so much about your character if you say and do. This will make you one in eight people that can be held accountable. Now, this doesn’t always have to be big, like save the world and devote your life, it can be as simple as returning that video to your friend when you said you would.

Thirdly, when you have free time talk to the people you may not necessary talk to, this goes double for those you may classify as “uncool” or not outgoing. I guarantee there’s a lot more to that person than you may expect. For the most part there’s a really good reason why that person is who they are, and spending those extra few minutes talking to that person will really help you to see them in a new perspective. It may help you relate to them better and more importantly, stop you from being an ignorant sheep and judging without proper reason.

Lastly, this may come across as being bad, particularly coming from a college student, but saying ‘yes’ to spontaneous things that occur can sometimes be a good thing. Now, I don’t mean going out partying when you said you were going to study. This means those few times in a year when someone might propose something that’s a little out of your comfort zone or even different again, not just drinking or the opposite sex. In these situations you’ll learn something cool or experience something different. My example would be last year when I choose to participate in a poorly organized but fun road trip with an American exchange student called Christiano. We went to places like the Great Southern Road and Melbourne. The fact that most of it was last minute was kind of what made it exciting and yes a lot of things went wrong but that also added to the fun.

Anyway, I hope my guide-lines for university and college have some meaning to you. Obviously you can and should mold it to properly fit your beliefs or lifestyle. I’d like to finish by leaving you with a few tips myself and the other Rudd RSC (Residential Student Committee) members gave to Steele Rudd about becoming an RSC member.

This entry was posted in Joseph, Steele Rudd, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , by Joseph. Bookmark the permalink.

About Joseph

Hi, my name is Joseph Mcduff. I’m a university student finishing my final year of full time study of my Bachelor of Spatial Science (Surveying) in Toowoomba. This is my last year at university and currently super keen to hit the work force next year. Though, more than likely, I will begin to miss university and college life when I’m actually working. I like to think I’m a pretty easy going guy who love keeping people on their toes and keeping things fresh and interesting Over my studying career in Toowoomba I have met some pretty amazing friends so I try to spend as much time as I can with them and also my family. Currently my hobbies involve organizing exciting college events as President of the RSC (Residential Social Committee), watching Game of Thrones, my favorite character is Tywin, and studying Japanese – I have a good friend who helps me with my Japanese pronunciation. I am passionate about trying new things like Latin dancing and it turns out I wasn’t too bad at it either. I love my comics even at the age of 25 I still enjoy Tony stark playboy approach, Thor’s moral and epic quotes and how Spiderman just can’t seem to catch a break. I have a celebrity crush on Zooey Deschanel, and a fictional crush on Margaery Tyrell from Game of Thrones. Whilst this only briefly begins to explain who I am, I’m sure you’ll definitely find out more about myself, my studies and social life as semester progresses. Hope you enjoy reading about my adventures throughout the semester. Joseph

Leave a Reply

