You Can Pass gO Week

It’s that time of year again. The holiday hangover is about to kick in and the stress of exams and assignments will begin. So, why not taken a whole week to settle into uni life, either for the first time or possibly the last? O Week, or as us Concannonites are calling it this year, gO Week, is all about easing back into study and settling into uni life in style. So this year, we have organised the week around a monopoly theme.

gO Week

At Concannon we devised a set of challenges and points system for the freshers (first years) to complete by the end of the week. The challenge of picking a flower for one of the returnees is proving a little more difficult for some. The challenges and riddles given to the freshers is just an easier and more fun way of getting to know everyone and easing them into the college atmosphere. There is also a special incentive. With an overall prize including an exercise ball, gift voucher and a few extra goodies, the competition is getting heated.

girls

gO Week is jam-packed with uni events, including Market Day (better known as Freebie Day) and the upcoming Phoenix Carnival, as well as college events such as inter-college Toga Trivia and an Olympiad, just to name a few. In saying that, the planning of college O-Week events is not an easy task, I can tell you first hand.

As part of Concannon’s Residential Student Club (RSC) this year, I get to see the hard work and patience it takes to organise all the inter-college events or even just a movie night on college. So please, think of the hours put in to make all this possible for YOU and enjoy the week!

tball

This week will be a week of ‘firsts’ for many. Not only will it be the first week of uni life and possibly college life, but this week friendships will be made and careers kick-started. For some it may even be the first (and maybe last) time that they will ever do the Chicken Dance while riding a mechanical bull. Yes, that happened.

Luisa

This entry was posted in Concannon, Meg, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , by Meg - USQ Student Blogger. Bookmark the permalink.

About Meg - USQ Student Blogger

Hi, my name is Meg or Megan if you really want to get my attention. I am now halfway through my degree as a full-time on-campus residential student at USQ Toowoomba. When I say full-time, I mean I live on college as well. I have been studying a Bachelor of Communication, majoring in journalism and public relations. This degree allows me to study something I love – talking, and explore possible career opportunities, which is great because I’m still figuring out what I want to do. Last year I hopped on a plane from sunny Townsville, escaping my two annoying brothers, for breezy Toowoomba. Moving to a new town where I didn’t know anyone, living on-campus was the obvious choice, and it was the best decision I could have made. While juggling the social-expectations and academics demands of uni and college life can sometimes be a handful, I wouldn’t trade it for anything! It’s easy for me to spend time with my friends while living on-campus. There are always fun activities to partake in such as the Residential Shield competitions between colleges or dress-up themes at the uni club. During these activities you can usually find me behind a camera snapping away. In-between telling the B Block boys to turn their music down and baking cupcakes, I love watching crime shows, especially ones with hunky main characters! I do however, need to exercise to make sure the cupcakes don’t make a lasting impression – thank goodness for friends to exercise with. While I am passionate about music, being woken up at 3am by someone’s bass does test my love. I’m sure as the semester goes on you’ll learn more about who I am and the crazy adventures that take place both at uni and on college. I hope you enjoy! Meg

Leave a Reply

