An Enchanted Evening

What happens when you put a group of college students in charge of organising a formal?

1234963_10201785399465397_1924275585_n

This year’s formal was a combination of beautiful decorations, amazing performances, painful video-editing and last minute details. This combination, while could have been a recipe for disaster was instead, a complete success. The night turned out better than anyone could have imagined given some of the hiccups that went on behind the scenes.

One of the major hiccups was the graduate video corrupting at 11pm the night before formal. Don’t stress, the nerd glasses came out and the video was saved and molded into one smooth and quite funny dedication to this year’s graduates, which happens to include myself.

This year was my last ever college formal. So I thought I would take a moment to reflect. Three years and three separate formals, it seems that the major consistency  throughout this time has been the friends and support that has been shared at college. I guess the fact that Concannon formal has always looked the best is also a consistency… or “tradition”, if you will.

298480_185703968172298_1901916267_n 66392_376503305759029_1419302266_n554497_511600788915946_229169171_n

This year at Concannon, we decided our theme would be “an enchanted evening”. A way to set the mood for a delicate evening and an excuse to use fairylights because let’s face it – who doesn’t love fairylights? While the 24hour lead up always feels the busiest, we were well prepared and decided to set-up the night before, attempting to iron everything out. The night couldn’t have looked any better. Huge congratulations to our Social Co-ordinator, Gabe.

1231404_554996327900571_347072736_n 1157524_554995394567331_589742081_n1240435_554996244567246_894149994_n

We hit up our after-party and somehow only a handful of us were left to slowly make our way to meet our friends downtown. Fortunately, or unfortunately, depending on which side of the stage you stood, we found ourselves singing karaoke at a pub. While this part of the night was completely unexpected, I can now tick it off my bucket list.

1175096_10151810204583340_1207162470_n

As this year draws to a close almost too quickly, I thought I’d take a moment to reflect on the time I’ve had at Concannon and the friends who now feel like family. Formal is the one night per year where we all dress up and reflect and celebrate the time that has passed. I think that needs to happen more often. Like high-school graduations, many of us are leaving. However, those who are staying at college or who have considered Concannon to be home at some stage, we are the smallest college but we have the biggest heart and that’s something that carries on long past the days of college life.

1175030_310740472405348_1737405779_n

Concannon Loud. Concannon Proud.

This entry was posted in Concannon, Meg, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , by Meg - USQ Student Blogger. Bookmark the permalink.

About Meg - USQ Student Blogger

Hi, my name is Meg or Megan if you really want to get my attention. I am now halfway through my degree as a full-time on-campus residential student at USQ Toowoomba. When I say full-time, I mean I live on college as well. I have been studying a Bachelor of Communication, majoring in journalism and public relations. This degree allows me to study something I love – talking, and explore possible career opportunities, which is great because I’m still figuring out what I want to do. Last year I hopped on a plane from sunny Townsville, escaping my two annoying brothers, for breezy Toowoomba. Moving to a new town where I didn’t know anyone, living on-campus was the obvious choice, and it was the best decision I could have made. While juggling the social-expectations and academics demands of uni and college life can sometimes be a handful, I wouldn’t trade it for anything! It’s easy for me to spend time with my friends while living on-campus. There are always fun activities to partake in such as the Residential Shield competitions between colleges or dress-up themes at the uni club. During these activities you can usually find me behind a camera snapping away. In-between telling the B Block boys to turn their music down and baking cupcakes, I love watching crime shows, especially ones with hunky main characters! I do however, need to exercise to make sure the cupcakes don’t make a lasting impression – thank goodness for friends to exercise with. While I am passionate about music, being woken up at 3am by someone’s bass does test my love. I’m sure as the semester goes on you’ll learn more about who I am and the crazy adventures that take place both at uni and on college. I hope you enjoy! Meg

Leave a Reply

