Something Borrowed, Something Blue

images

Almost everyone knows of a science fiction show. Star Trek and Doctor Who are the big ones because they’ve been around for such a long time. Doctor Who for example, is the longest running sci-fi show ever. They’re celebrating their 50th anniversary this year (2013) as a matter of fact.

Readers who are unfamiliar with Doctor Who won’t understand the meaning of the title, so allow me to explain…  The T.A.R.D.I.S. is the spaceship of the show; its gimmick is that it looks like a blue police box. The Doctor ‘borrowed’ the T.A.R.D.I.S. from a museum back on his home planet when he first started his adventures because he failed all his exams and wasn’t allowed his own ship.

In one of the more recent seasons, the T.A.R.D.I.S. is described by the old wedding saying that you need “Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed and Something Blue.”

Honestly I could talk about the semantics for hours, but since I don’t want everyone to know how much of a nerd I can be, I won’t.

Science fiction is a subject that is near and dear to my nerdy heart. To me it isn’t just about the aliens, but how does it relate to college, or indeed university?

To see how it relates, we have to travel back in time about fifteen years. When I was five, I was first introduced to science fiction through Stargate SG-1. A show that even today I enjoy. The most intriguing thing to me was Space, and travelling to new and exotic places – something I inherited from my mother.

I decided I’d be an astronaut when I got older.

I didn’t become an astronaut. However, I continued to dream about the stars and about travel. I started watching Doctor Who because my Mum watched it when she was little and wanted my sister and I to do the same. That’s how I became acquainted with Tom Baker (Doctor No.4) – the guy with the outrageous scarf.

Now here was this exciting alien, who traveled around earth having adventures and saving people with two big rules.

Number 1: Don’t use weapons i.e. Guns and

Number 2:

IMG_0029

Both rules I liked and agreed with.

It was by this point that I was starting to gather a picture of what I wanted to do. My ultimate goal was to make the world a better place by me having been in it, and with a doctor as a mother I had already been exposed to medicine.

I wanted to travel and help people, and for me the natural leap was to nursing which brought me to University. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my course and found that over the past three years I’ve learned lots of new facts about caring for people.

For me, science fiction became the start of a passion that guided me towards my chosen career, with a little bit of help along the way from my parents of course.

The decision to go to university, or what one ultimately decides they want to with the remainder of their time on this little blue-green planet can have a very strange path.  Some come to university because family push them and others come because they don’t.

Whatever the reason or the story behind the university decision, it is an important one. While it might seem bizarre that I came to my choice through science fiction, it worked for me.

The advice that I offer freely today is to think hard about the field of study that one has chosen, how that choice came about and is it really something that you want to do.

It might just be a story out of this world.

douglas_adams_quote_wallpaper_by_dredfonnelly-d5a706z

(P.S. If you’re looking for a good book to read that’s a bit out of the ordinary – The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy is a good one)

This entry was posted in Laura, Steele Rudd, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , by Laura. Bookmark the permalink.

About Laura

I was born in the hustle and bustle of Brisbane, mid winter, some 19 years ago. Since that day, I've had the pleasure of a pretty enjoyable life. I've done a fair bit of travelling, and no-where near enough snow skiing as I would like. My name is Laura, and despite my intense desire for a nickname since grade 8, I have always been known as such. As you may have guessed, I spent my youth in Brisbane. When I graduated school, I wanted a change, and so I left the comforts of home and headed into the perceived wilderness of a rural setting. Of course, when I arrived I realized it was nothing like what my friends had made me believe. However, I was just about the only Brisbanite living in my college so it made for a vast change in conversation topics. As I alluded to earlier, I am a passionate skier. A good skier however, well, that can be debated. I’m rather uncoordinated, much to my eternal disgrace. I enjoy bushwalking, and reading and very occasionally, cooking – so long as its something sweet and I can lick the spoons. At University, I study Nursing full-time, and am nearly finished my second year of the three-year course. I hope you like my rambles of college life, and perhaps I will see you around.

2 thoughts on “Something Borrowed, Something Blue

  1. Pingback: Something Borrowed, Something Blue | Todd DeanTodd Dean

  2. Wonderful website. ʟots of helpful informatiοn here. I am sending
    it to sоmе friends and also sharing in delicious. And οf cօurse, thanks on your effort!

Leave a Reply

