Rudd 2013 Formal

So as of September 14th the Steele Rudd College formal is over and from my experience it turned out to be one of the best in my years on this great college. Each year we have a formal to celebrate our university accomplishments, the college year, reflect on what happened, celebrate the graduates and issue awards to those how have accomplished at a university level, contributed to college life and not to mention, followed by some pretty wild after-parties.

This event is run by the RSC and without the dedication and commitment of these amazing people, the college experience wouldn’t be half of what it is. But beyond the formals, the RSC is responsible for organizing a range of activities for the college including the Residential Shield competition, social events like bush dancing, Funday Sunday, after-parties and O-Week.

To give you an idea of a typical formal night we usually start with a big college picture of all residents; this time we wanted an afternoon shot as the sun was setting. With the orange background along with the open grass field and tree’s in the background it was really spectacular. We’re still getting the photos developed so you might have to take my word on it. Pre-drinks are held in the college Junior Common Room where we gather to admire the girls’ gorgeous dresses and talk before heading into our dining hall to commence the night.

1272507_514657885278686_836768261_o

During the night we have a variety of events to entertain us like block videos made by each of the college blocks. These video represent the block’s lifestyle and the students that reside in that block. These aren’t really structured but we all get a laugh or a protest depending on which block does what.

Being the President of the Steele Rudd RSC I was expected to make an announcement regarding the college year which brings me to a particular topic; Phobia (Abnormal intense fear of a given situation, Organism or object). Our phobias change over as we develop but public speaking remains on average the number one phobia, ahead of Nerophobia – fear of death, Arachibutyrophobia – fear of peanut butter sticking to the roof of the mouth, Hippopotomonstrosesquipedaliophobia – fear of long words and Levophobia – Fear of things to the left side of the body. Unfortunately I am a part of the one in three people who suffer from speech anxiety, so doing a presentation to a group of my fellow residents is no easy task. Having a particularly low voice that sometimes is hard to understand doesn’t help either. However the highlight of my speech was a poem dedicated to the residents of B Block which I’d like to share with you.

What Duff really thinks of B Block

It’s finally here, like a dream come true
B Block this is what I think of you

 

I hate you B Block, I really do
I sit and wonder what can I do

 

You say hello, I say goodbye
You think the reason is because I’m shy

 

Katharine thinks you’re cute and also funny
But to the RSC you just cost money

 

You make me laugh, you make me cry
It’s like being back in junior high

 

Thank God we’re separated by a wall
I have considered a B Block brawl

 

You complain so much, and say “it’s not fair”
But other blocks just do not care

 

You talk of love, like you have a clue
And wonder why you’ve caught the flu

 

You say we’ll miss you Duff
I laugh at you 
But secretly I’ll miss you too

I’m quite the poet I’ve realized. Anyway getting back to the formal, it went well and to top off the evening we had a pretty awesome band to finish our night. Now this band just so happens to be a Rudd resident Ayden Ribbits, and his band “The Whisky Fox Run”. Rather than describing the music I found a video of them performing so if you love your music check them out. Yeah they’re still a little green but they’re pretty good.

183187_455921464483652_182844554_nhttps://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=10151558476732756%22%20width=%22568%22%20height=%22320%22%20frameborder=%220%22%3E%3C/iframe

Now onto the after party – the most important point of the evening! It was pretty cool and I won’t get into the “who, what, when, where, why and how’s” of the evening because I could go on for pages. However, a party with a $400 drinking tab on the bar is a pretty good recipe for a good night out.

I am, by no means a big drinker but on occasions when I do have a big night out I may consider doing stuff a little out of the usual. This time it was Tequila Suicide and for those who are unfamiliar, I’d rather write about it than show you an example of what is involved in a Tequila Suicide. There is one performed by an actor called Sascha Gilly Israel you can look up if you want more information, or just a laugh.

 Yeah, so we snorted salt, downed Tequila and squished lemon juice in our eyes. Why did I do this you ask? Well it seemed like a good idea at the time – again I don’t overly support this, but a one off experience can be really painful but a lot of fun.

Anyway that’s pretty much everything worthy of noting from our 2013 Formal.

7018_145808689517_6863909_n

I hope you enjoyed reading my blog and check back as I’ll be putting a new blog up soon.

This entry was posted in Joseph, Steele Rudd, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , by Joseph. Bookmark the permalink.

About Joseph

Hi, my name is Joseph Mcduff. I’m a university student finishing my final year of full time study of my Bachelor of Spatial Science (Surveying) in Toowoomba. This is my last year at university and currently super keen to hit the work force next year. Though, more than likely, I will begin to miss university and college life when I’m actually working. I like to think I’m a pretty easy going guy who love keeping people on their toes and keeping things fresh and interesting Over my studying career in Toowoomba I have met some pretty amazing friends so I try to spend as much time as I can with them and also my family. Currently my hobbies involve organizing exciting college events as President of the RSC (Residential Social Committee), watching Game of Thrones, my favorite character is Tywin, and studying Japanese – I have a good friend who helps me with my Japanese pronunciation. I am passionate about trying new things like Latin dancing and it turns out I wasn’t too bad at it either. I love my comics even at the age of 25 I still enjoy Tony stark playboy approach, Thor’s moral and epic quotes and how Spiderman just can’t seem to catch a break. I have a celebrity crush on Zooey Deschanel, and a fictional crush on Margaery Tyrell from Game of Thrones. Whilst this only briefly begins to explain who I am, I’m sure you’ll definitely find out more about myself, my studies and social life as semester progresses. Hope you enjoy reading about my adventures throughout the semester. Joseph

Leave a Reply

