Choosing Your Weapon: Apple VS Windows

The computer you choose for study is important. Whether or not a computer works well, fast, slow, has the correct programs for the job, plays games, doesn’t play games, is old or new – as well as cost are all things to consider.

 Another thing to consider of course is which way you swing. Personally – I’m an Apple fan.

 blog11.1

I have an Iphone and a MacBook Pro. My family is also Apple users. My Mum and Grandmother each have an Iphone, MacBook Pro and Ipad. Sister = MacBook & Iphone. Cousins, Aunts and Uncles are the same, having at least one of the above. You might say that the Mills family likes their Apple products.

On college though, much to my grief, I found myself surrounded by Windows computers! It was a sad day indeed when I realized that to most others – I was the strange one. I had to contain my horror, but luckily I survived those first few weeks and realized that Windows people aren’t as crazy as I was lead to believe.

I mean – these people can actually play computer games besides the Sims. Talk about a revelation! Back to the point however, everyone has a preferred computer. At college, computers are vital to survival. One can’t submit assignments, let alone do all the research or access course materials without access to the internet. Luckily for those who need it, the Book Bursary is available which can be turned into a computer. Apparently this computer (for those out there thinking maybe they can use it for gaming) is pretty much a dud in the gaming department which could very well be intentional because the university wants people to study with the computers they give out, not play games.

Though people do still find ways to procrastinate without the gaming outlet, for example – looking at funny pictures on Facebook is a favourite of many.

 blog11.2 blog11.3

Watching the Simpsons is the current study-break material of H Block Steele Rudd  – though it does change. I digress though – we were talking about computers.

Simmering underneath the calm surface of college is the battle for supremacy – which computer is better. I know the answer of course – it’s Apple, but then, some might say I’m biased. Those people are probably Windows users though.

Truthfully, each type has its pros and cons. Some require a MacBook for their studies – some programs Apple products get are much better than Windows ones – usually these are Arts people. Others, doing engineering for example, need Windows for the programs that it provides. I can see both sides of the argument, but I do prefer my side.

I leave you reader, to ponder which type you prefer and why? If you’re a Linux user… well you’re excused from discussion.

Cheers, Laura

This entry was posted in Laura, Steele Rudd, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , by Laura. Bookmark the permalink.

About Laura

I was born in the hustle and bustle of Brisbane, mid winter, some 19 years ago. Since that day, I've had the pleasure of a pretty enjoyable life. I've done a fair bit of travelling, and no-where near enough snow skiing as I would like. My name is Laura, and despite my intense desire for a nickname since grade 8, I have always been known as such. As you may have guessed, I spent my youth in Brisbane. When I graduated school, I wanted a change, and so I left the comforts of home and headed into the perceived wilderness of a rural setting. Of course, when I arrived I realized it was nothing like what my friends had made me believe. However, I was just about the only Brisbanite living in my college so it made for a vast change in conversation topics. As I alluded to earlier, I am a passionate skier. A good skier however, well, that can be debated. I’m rather uncoordinated, much to my eternal disgrace. I enjoy bushwalking, and reading and very occasionally, cooking – so long as its something sweet and I can lick the spoons. At University, I study Nursing full-time, and am nearly finished my second year of the three-year course. I hope you like my rambles of college life, and perhaps I will see you around.

One thought on “Choosing Your Weapon: Apple VS Windows

  1. “Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.”

Leave a Reply

