Music- The Great Connector

I absolutely LOVE music. So much that I will pay a LOT of money and sit up many hours late at night doing assignments to study it at university and … hopefully… with lots of practice, become an expert at it. So far the only instrument I am trained in is vocals but I can play enough chords on guitar and piano to accompany myself for gigs and performances.

Kent Music

Music seriously connects people on such a deep level that we find it hard to explain. In simple terms, it involves a lot of invisible factors such as emotions and other brain related actions. When you listen to music your brain often releases dopamine. Dopamine, in case you aren’t aware of what it is, is a chemical that your brain releases when you feel pleasure, reward or happiness. Simple. If you feel happiness or pleasure, with say eating chocolate or playing music, and you do it with someone else or even a group of people, you automatically feel a connection with the others involved. It’s magical!

"Let Music Connect Us. Something Wonderful Will Happen"

I remember the very first day when I came to college back in the beginning of 2012, the RA who showed me to my room was sitting in the Junior Common Room with a guitar and playing little tunes and automatically the room felt more welcoming. We walked and talked while he showed me to my room. There was this understanding in our language between us – musician to musician. What’s even greater, music doesn’t only effect and connect musicians. Later that week, two of us (at-the-time) newbies, or as called at college, us “freshers”, spontaneously started jamming in the laundry at college. The acoustics were so different compared to when you jam in the bedroom because of the tiled floor rather than carpet. As you could imagine, just like singing in the bathroom, the sound bounces around and causes a reverb. The most amazing thing though was slowly but surely, song after song, more and more people started to join us. The harmonies from vocals to other instruments such as guitars and ukuleles filled the air and literally put shivers down my spine. It was so awesome!

They felt the music together and something amazing happened – From the street to TV in a few days:

The other magnificent thing about music is that it not only connects people with other people, it also connects us with memories. College is awesome! Don’t get me wrong. But sometimes it’s nice to escape to another place. The great thing about music is that it can take you to another place even while your still in your same bedroom. You can just put some music on, lie down on your bed and shut your eyes. You can feel like you’re somewhere else because the music connects you with memories or images in your mind. It’s powerful, yet serene.

I could talk all day about music because it’s my passion but I won’t put you through that.

Thanks for reading- Kent

This entry was posted in Kent, Steele Rudd, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , by Kent. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kent

My name is Kent Tonscheck. I am 19 years old and currently studying a Bachelor of Creative Arts majoring in music (contemporary voice). I am in third year now meaning that this should be my final year. I grew up on a farm an hour and a quarter drive north-west of Toowoomba where we bred beef cattle. It used to be a dairy farm but the drought got the better of us. None-the-less, I've always been a cowboy kid until moving into the city for my studies. I hope to one day be really successful with my singer/songwriter career and travel the world performing. Some life goals of mine include getting on the Ellen show, being nominated for/winning an ARIA and a Grammy award and many more crazy big-dreamer goals. I love to sing, perform and live up to the stereotype of those "crazy creative arts kids" as I go about my daily life. I am known for having a sense of humour that involves many puns and I wish to apologise now if any find their way into the blogs I write. That's me! I hope you enjoy my blogs.

Leave a Reply

