Party vs Study

Study or Party? This is a dilemma that has plagued many university students throughout the years and no doubt will continue to be a problem for students in the future. It’s a topic that no one person can provide an exact answer for, factors such as time, competence and situation dramatically impacting the answer. This should make you question the main fundamental goal of a university student which is to achieve an academic education however we can’t help but consider that guilty pleaser. No one understood this more so than Tom Petty who quotes

“You have four years to be irresponsible here. Relax. Work is for people with jobs. You’ll never remember class time, but you’ll remember time you wasted hanging out with your friends”.

As a recent university graduated who wouldn’t classify himself as a party animal I still can’t help but agree to an extent with both sides however, you be the judge on this topic.

For you to properly judge the choice between the life of a social butterfly in and the life of a uni student who places study before anything else this blog will look at two things:

  1. The physiological reason why we choose party over academic
  2. And look at procrastination which fundamentally the core of party or Study.

The Why

We look at the decisions we make between a short term and a long term reward based on the perceived reward value associated with each possible action. Before I continue I’d like to acknowledge these concepts are based off an article (One Candy Bar or Two? Party or Study? Procrastination Decisions) written by Ira Hyman who uses a clever example to explain why some times party comes before party.

The article cleverly uses an example of a child who was given a choice on a Monday morning whether he/she would prefer their candy bars be distributed either one on Thursday and the other Friday, or to receive two on Friday. Results showed that while the child chose two candy bars on the Friday valuing that as the better option, as the days passed and Thursday came the child’s valuing suddenly changed to preferring the candy bar Thursday and Friday. The idea of receiving the reward at the present outweighed an intangible reward later the next day. Anyway for those who are wondering just what I’m talking about here’s a diagram to explain.

Working Towards the Reward

Let the blue line be the reward on Thursday and Friday and the yellow line be the big reward on Friday.

This can be related back to university students, say there’s a test Friday and their going to party after it finishes on the Friday afternoon, they know there will be another party on the Thursday. Does he/she study through Thursday feel more confident about the test and go all out on the Friday night party or do they go for the second party as well and spend money and study time that perhaps hinders Friday a bit? The choice is yours?

If you would like to check out this article yourself, feel free:

http://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/mental-mishaps/201010/one-candy-bar-or-two-party-or-study-procrastination-decisions

Procrastination

Now, the boring section about procrastination, where I talk about ‘strategies to realistically manage the distractions that are bound to arise in a busy person’s schedule.’

I could give example such as:

  • close the door
  • turn off the mobile phone
  • prepare a schedule for your study session with beginning and ending times
  • take strategic study breaks so you can still pay bills, go to the gym, pick children up from school and make important phone calls
  • keep a blank ‘procrastination pad’ on the desk for jotting to remind you to think more about non-study things later, after your study period.

However I found an interesting video that will explain it better than I ever could:

To save this blog from getting too serious I’ve also added this video, Enjoy!:

And there you have it. I hope this at the very least has given you a better understanding of the age old battle of study vs party. It makes you wonder whether it all comes to this:

college-you-only-can-choose-two

So the question that all university students must ask themselves:

What are you going to choose? Part or Study?

This entry was posted in Joseph, Steele Rudd, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , by Joseph. Bookmark the permalink.

About Joseph

Hi, my name is Joseph Mcduff. I’m a university student finishing my final year of full time study of my Bachelor of Spatial Science (Surveying) in Toowoomba. This is my last year at university and currently super keen to hit the work force next year. Though, more than likely, I will begin to miss university and college life when I’m actually working. I like to think I’m a pretty easy going guy who love keeping people on their toes and keeping things fresh and interesting Over my studying career in Toowoomba I have met some pretty amazing friends so I try to spend as much time as I can with them and also my family. Currently my hobbies involve organizing exciting college events as President of the RSC (Residential Social Committee), watching Game of Thrones, my favorite character is Tywin, and studying Japanese – I have a good friend who helps me with my Japanese pronunciation. I am passionate about trying new things like Latin dancing and it turns out I wasn’t too bad at it either. I love my comics even at the age of 25 I still enjoy Tony stark playboy approach, Thor’s moral and epic quotes and how Spiderman just can’t seem to catch a break. I have a celebrity crush on Zooey Deschanel, and a fictional crush on Margaery Tyrell from Game of Thrones. Whilst this only briefly begins to explain who I am, I’m sure you’ll definitely find out more about myself, my studies and social life as semester progresses. Hope you enjoy reading about my adventures throughout the semester. Joseph

Leave a Reply

