WINTER IS COMING – Toowoomba Winter – Tips for Surviving It!

So you want to know how to stay warm in this bitterly cold winter weather? The short answer is, DON’T GET OUT OF BED! Those real life teddy bears have it right hibernating all the winter. It’s as if they just time-travel from the playful, falling autumn leaves to the fresh blooming flowers and butterflies of spring. We all know that uni work and… well… life doesn’t allow us to just snooze away winter under our warm blankets.

These are just my suggestions. If you have better methods that work specifically for you then disregard what I’m about to say. However, if you don’t know Toowoomba that well, and don’t enjoy getting sick, then make use of my experience.

Firstly, the cold snaps can sneak up on you with a surprise, so be prepared early. Usually it’s because a southerly wind picks up and carries the cold temperatures from the snow down south. So, what I suggest is that you purchase, or bring with you to college, a few jackets and trackies that you can wear while you sip tea or hot milo. Also, don’t forget a warm doona for your bed.

Lots of Sweaters

If we look at the positives here, there are no mosquitoes in winter and the best thing is that we get to wear cool accessories such as scarfs and knitted sweaters. Hmm… this makes me want to go play in snow. The movies make it look so fun. (I’ve never seen snow). In Toowoomba sadly we don’t get snow but you will experience frost. Just warning you. When you go to breakfast, don’t be fooled by the temperature inside your bedroom. It’s usually about 5 times colder outside.

Just because the sun is up and out, you shouldn’t go removing your jacket too soon in the day. Most classrooms will still be cold in the day and if they have heaters on, you’ll be hit with the cold as you leave class. Look at me… I sound like a mother. Just don’t say you weren’t warned. Toowoomba can be mysteriously deceptive. But that’s why its fun to live here.

Warm Clothes

If you’re a person who completely hates winter and can’t be convinced that there are positives then let me just say, you will be surprised with warmer days here and there but they usually don’t last. Lucky the rooms at college have heaters in them.

Now, my number one tip for using the heater – Because I am a singer, I have learned the importance of keeping the air from getting too dry (which heaters will do). You could go buy yourself a humidifier for $70… ew… OR buy a $2 spray bottle and just spray one squirt of mist into the air every now and again while the heater is going. And may I suggest, don’t sleep with it turned on.

In summary:
– Have warm bedding (bring a doona)
– Have warm clothes (don’t be afraid to accessorise – scarf, mittens)
– Hot beverages
– Use your heater (but stay hydrated and keep a bit of humidity in the air)
It’s quite simple really. I’ve only learned these things from experience though so I hope you can learn from my experiences also and enjoy winter with good health. And trust me, the other side (spring time) is amazing in Toowoomba – The Garden City. But that’s another story.

Peace out!
– Kent

This entry was posted in Kent, Steele Rudd, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , by Kent. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kent

My name is Kent Tonscheck. I am 19 years old and currently studying a Bachelor of Creative Arts majoring in music (contemporary voice). I am in third year now meaning that this should be my final year. I grew up on a farm an hour and a quarter drive north-west of Toowoomba where we bred beef cattle. It used to be a dairy farm but the drought got the better of us. None-the-less, I've always been a cowboy kid until moving into the city for my studies. I hope to one day be really successful with my singer/songwriter career and travel the world performing. Some life goals of mine include getting on the Ellen show, being nominated for/winning an ARIA and a Grammy award and many more crazy big-dreamer goals. I love to sing, perform and live up to the stereotype of those "crazy creative arts kids" as I go about my daily life. I am known for having a sense of humour that involves many puns and I wish to apologise now if any find their way into the blogs I write. That's me! I hope you enjoy my blogs.

Leave a Reply

