FLORIDA- HERE I COME!!!

As I was working through my study books in mid May, tirelessly completing final year assessment for university, I got a little single note tone on my phone indicating that I just got an email. Now getting an email is nothing new, but this one was from my music lecturer suggesting that I check out an audition in town. The audition was for an event in Orlando, Florida. This is an American event that allows people in the fields of Singing, Dancing, Modelling and Acting to showcase their talents in front of agencies and to attend workshops for training from professionals in their specific fields. They have an Australian representative who auditions around the country and takes over a specially selected group. This year she selected 37 people from across Australia and New Zealand.

Universal Studios

To gain a spot in this would have been phenomenal but when you consider how many people, from these two countries, would be eligible, there was a very slim chance I would have a hope in getting selected. I figured, I wouldn’t know unless I tried. If I did it and didn’t get in, at least I would have gained some experience auditioning. If I didn’t even audition, what would I gain from that? I’d probably gain curiosity and regret.

After a seemingly long week, I got an email from the lovely representative saying that she would love to have me on board and asked if I would accept her offer.

Florida

This just blew my mind! My friends at college kept saying, “I reckon you got a good chance” and that was really encouraging to hear, but I didn’t want to psyche myself up, only to get disappointed. None-the-less, in December 2014, I’ll be heading to the States for a week for Singing and Modelling.

Now I had to balance the trainings for it and my studies to make sure I can succeeded in both. It will work out to be perfect timing because I will just finish my course and then go out and showcase what I can do.

The only issue is that I need to pay for the expenses and they add up to just over $7000. Thankfully, college friends also helped out with fundraising and so far I have been able to meet expenses. I haven’t paid them all off yet but I have faith that I can make it!

Steele Rudd College

I seriously can’t thank all my college friends enough for taking the time out of their busy schedules and for their efforts and support – purely for the sake of helping me achieve my dream. I appreciate it from the bottom of my heart!

If you would like to help me financially, please go to the link below:

http://www.gofundme.com/9wx2wo

Kent

 

This entry was posted in Kent, Steele Rudd, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , by Kent. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kent

My name is Kent Tonscheck. I am 19 years old and currently studying a Bachelor of Creative Arts majoring in music (contemporary voice). I am in third year now meaning that this should be my final year. I grew up on a farm an hour and a quarter drive north-west of Toowoomba where we bred beef cattle. It used to be a dairy farm but the drought got the better of us. None-the-less, I've always been a cowboy kid until moving into the city for my studies. I hope to one day be really successful with my singer/songwriter career and travel the world performing. Some life goals of mine include getting on the Ellen show, being nominated for/winning an ARIA and a Grammy award and many more crazy big-dreamer goals. I love to sing, perform and live up to the stereotype of those "crazy creative arts kids" as I go about my daily life. I am known for having a sense of humour that involves many puns and I wish to apologise now if any find their way into the blogs I write. That's me! I hope you enjoy my blogs.

Leave a Reply

