Why live on college?

There are literally so many reasons why living on college is a good thing. In fact there are so many that if you actually asked the question “why live on college?” and then read this entire article, you would probably find yourself packing your things and moving there right away.

Firstly, the most obvious benefit of living on campus is the convenience of it. Even if you have a dreaded 8am class, you can still afford to sleep longer than you would in a house because you just have to get dressed and walk to your buffet breakfast where you can eat what you like amongst the company of your friends who are also up at that time. When you finish with your plate, the amazing friendly kitchen staffs wash it up for you and you walk your way across the road to your class. Speaking of convenience, all your bills are also put together into a single bill so that you don’t have to waste your time paying a million separate things. You have Internet in you room as well as WIFI around the common rooms and surrounding areas. Oh and did I mention there’s a gym just next door that gives us sweet deals because we’re students? It’s seriously so convenient that we almost become lazy. However it does allow for us to focus on the study.

Block party #redfoo #nurses #degree #stereotypes #swag #yolo

A post shared by Kent Tonscheck (@kenttonscheck) on

Secondly, college is fun. We have a big contest each year between all colleges called Residential Shield, or “Res-shield” as we all call it, that basically consists of lots of different sporting and cultural events throughout the year. There’s no reason for you to ever get bored if you’re one of those people that study something that allows you free time. It’s so important that you get involved in these types of events because they help you to take your mind off study and reduce stress while keeping your body and mind healthy. Other fun aspects of college are things such as block films for Semi-Formal and Formal. Lots of times we make them so bad that they’re good and really focus on making something funny. As you can imagine, after the formal is finished, everyone is in fits of laughter and makes for good stories for weeks to come.

Lastly, college is supportive. While on college I made friends with so many people and they’re contacts I will have forever. Everyone looks out for each other and when you need a friend to talk to, there is always someone just down the hall. If there’s not, there is always someone in the next block. You literally have friends living a small walk from your bedroom door. If you need support with your studies or want to see a councillor, there are support teams just across the road or an email away. If you’re like me and come from a family farm struggling through tough weather, you can find financial support and scholarships specifically for you.

My degree was three years in duration and I lived there from start to finish. I wouldn’t change a thing! I learnt a lot, completed my course and will have friends for life thanks to college.

P.S. I’d totally love it if you could check out and buy my debut EP just released

https://itunes.apple.com/au/album/life-love-tales-ep/id939931395

This entry was posted in Kent, Steele Rudd, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , by Kent. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kent

My name is Kent Tonscheck. I am 19 years old and currently studying a Bachelor of Creative Arts majoring in music (contemporary voice). I am in third year now meaning that this should be my final year. I grew up on a farm an hour and a quarter drive north-west of Toowoomba where we bred beef cattle. It used to be a dairy farm but the drought got the better of us. None-the-less, I've always been a cowboy kid until moving into the city for my studies. I hope to one day be really successful with my singer/songwriter career and travel the world performing. Some life goals of mine include getting on the Ellen show, being nominated for/winning an ARIA and a Grammy award and many more crazy big-dreamer goals. I love to sing, perform and live up to the stereotype of those "crazy creative arts kids" as I go about my daily life. I am known for having a sense of humour that involves many puns and I wish to apologise now if any find their way into the blogs I write. That's me! I hope you enjoy my blogs.

Leave a Reply

