To the USA and back

You would have seen my blog previously talking about preparing and fund raising for a weeklong trip to Florida, USA to attend a showcase. Well… I’m home again and all I can say is that it was absolutely AMAZING!

To be honest, it took a long, long time to actually feel excited. Here’s why. I had never been out of the country before, hadn’t flown many times in my life before and was more scared of something epically stupid to happen. There was always the chance that I would forget something really important, remember something and then leave it behind in an airport or plane, my luggage could of gone missing or I could of made it all the way to Florida and my credit card could fail and I would be stuck helpless 8000 miles from home. As it turns out, I had to run through most of the airports to get to my planes in right time for boarding and only lost a bottle of body wash because it was too big. I felt like I was on a role and everything was running fairly smooth and then I rocked up to Orlando Airport and my guitar didn’t come through the oversize baggage chute. I had to run to the service desk and have a word with them. They assured me not to worry, BUT my guitar was on its way to Chicago.

Kent Singing

So I managed to book into the Marriott and my credit card worked, but I was without my guitar. Not only that, I actually didn’t feel excitement because it was so overwhelming. I had never been in such a big hotel. I had never seen such a big pool. I couldn’t get my head around the side of the road they drive on.

Kent Modelling

Anyway… I thankfully had everything I needed in good time and was healthy and ready for the sections in which I was entered. I got the biggest surprise when I came out of a seminar I was in and people started smiling at me differently and saying “you might want to check out the notice board”. This took the hype out of it a bit, but I managed to get into the top 10 vocalists out of everyone. This meant that I got to sing in the showcase show. I ended up winning 2nd place overall! Not only that, but I got 5 callbacks!!!

Unfortunately I didn’t get any recording deals or modelling contracts straight away but I did get some really great advice from some top professionals in the industry. I now have contacts for agents in New York and LA and have a list of things to now save up for and work on before I move to New York to pursue a career. (This will be in a few years, don’t say your goodbyes just yet).

I honestly can’t thank you all enough for your support and kind words.

I now need to go and make a boatload of money to make things happen.

Blessings,

Kent

 

This entry was posted in Kent, Steele Rudd, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , by Kent. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kent

My name is Kent Tonscheck. I am 19 years old and currently studying a Bachelor of Creative Arts majoring in music (contemporary voice). I am in third year now meaning that this should be my final year. I grew up on a farm an hour and a quarter drive north-west of Toowoomba where we bred beef cattle. It used to be a dairy farm but the drought got the better of us. None-the-less, I've always been a cowboy kid until moving into the city for my studies. I hope to one day be really successful with my singer/songwriter career and travel the world performing. Some life goals of mine include getting on the Ellen show, being nominated for/winning an ARIA and a Grammy award and many more crazy big-dreamer goals. I love to sing, perform and live up to the stereotype of those "crazy creative arts kids" as I go about my daily life. I am known for having a sense of humour that involves many puns and I wish to apologise now if any find their way into the blogs I write. That's me! I hope you enjoy my blogs.

Leave a Reply

