Uni of best fit

Every prospective university student faces many decisions. For some students, these decisions are very easy, like a perfect line of linear plots waiting to be connected with a sweep of the pen. They have dreamt of their university, career and college ever since they commenced high school. For many students however, these decisions are much like a scattered quartic function without a simple answer and require a great deal of investigation in order to find the best fit. One of the first decisions to consider is which university will be the correct choice for YOU! Many students feel pressured to attend certain universities due to peer pressure or location. Through careful consideration of individual needs during your time at university, a far more enjoyable experience will result.

Image 1

During year 12, like so many others, I applied to attend Brisbane universities, similar to my friends, without much thought for my needs during my future experience. During my Gap Year, I had time to consider my options with a more open mind and realised that Brisbane may not be the city for me. I also learnt that although many of my friends were no longer in the same town as me, I had kept in contact with many of them and had made new friendships in my new phase of life. Among other decisions, this urged me to reconsider which university was truly the best option for me. Like so many prospective students, I looked at locations…how far each university was from home, the different facilities, the differences between the Education degrees, living options and more! I also took the time to revisit each of the prime opportunities offered throughout year to investigate my university options. I visited the Bundaberg careers fair, the Brisbane Tertiary Studies Expo (TSXPO), took time off work to visit the three universities on my short list and heard experiences from friends who had begun their university experience. Using these resources, I was able to eliminate universities from my list and make the decision to go to a different university, a different town…USQ Toowoomba.

Image 2

Choosing a university of best fit is a difficult and important decision. Through this process you will learn about yourself, such as proving that you can make informed, adult decisions without being swayed by others’ opinions, expectations or decisions around you. Having made your decision, you will reap many benefits! You will be free to reinvent yourself and spread your wings by developing new friendships…after all whoever heard of someone with too many friends? You totally own that decision now and that is awesome!

Image 3

Of course, like a mathematical line of best fit, no university is by any means perfect. They are always adapting and evolving with the times, but through thorough investigation of all of your options, you will be able to make an informed decision of the best possible university for YOU at whatever stage of life you are at! Above all, stay true to yourself and choose the university that suits your needs best. It can make the world of difference to your future university experience.

This entry was posted in Alice, Concannon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , by Alice. Bookmark the permalink.

About Alice

Hi there! My name is Alice Galea. I am currently studying my second year of my Bachelor of Education (Secondary), with a major in Biology and a minor in Mathematics. I graduated high school in 2012 and after completing a Gap Year, made the move from my hometown of Bundaberg onto the smallest college with the biggest heart, Concannon College! During my first year, I made many friends, participated in many of the college events and overcame many of the challenges that moving about 400km from my home, family and friends brought. In my spare time (what little there is as a dedicated uni student), I enjoy baking (in particular cupcakes), card making, cross stitching and watching a few of my favourite TV shows, including MKR, Masterchef and Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries. I hope that my blogs resonate with you and can offer you some advice to help you through your university experience! Here’s to a great year!

Leave a Reply

