When InSaNity takes over

As Hannah Montana once sang, “Everybody has those days … Everybody knows what I’m talking about … Everybody gets that way.” You’re on point Hannah, especially when it comes to uni!Pic 1

We all have those days where we just want to crawl up into foetal position in the corner of the room and rock back and forth. No? If you don’t, you seriously need to share with me how you keep a uni/work/life balance. I, for one, admit that I am a stress head – I stress about the smallest things to the biggest things and it all takes its toll, often at the worst times. It has taken me years to finally realise how to unwind and have some ‘me’ time, to minimise the effects that uni and study have.

It’s good to have stress in your life, it’s inevitable and sometimes a useful motivator. Some stresses can assist you in studying and some stresses can prevent you from studying. Imagine you are swimming in the ocean with waves. Assistive stressors are at the point where you are comfortable swimming, you are able to tread water and float over waves. Preventative stressors feel like you have gone too far into the water and a wave is crashing down on you and you are struggling for air. Hint: you don’t want to reach this point.

Here are some of the tips I use when I can see that wave of stress coming and don’t want it to come crashing down on me.

  • EXERCISE: I’m the type of person that doesn’t run unless they are being chased by a serial killer or see a snake. I personally despise exercise but incorporate it into my daily life (well, try too anyway). I find that when I am stressed, if I go to the gym for an hour I feel rejuvenated and ready to get back into study.
  • CALL MY FAMILY or FRIENDS: My mum is my go to person and I call her pretty much every night (I know, a mummy’s girl). She listens to my worries and gives me advice on how to deal with them. If she’s at work or I need a hug in-person, I go to the friends I feel comfortable with who are always willing to help me out (need those people in your life).

Pic 2 Pic 3

  • DO SOMETHING YOU ENJOY: Sport, painting, crafts or binge watching your favourite or new addictive TV Show. Everyone is different and enjoys different things. I personally like crawling into bed and watching my favourite TV Show (Friends or Grey’s Anatomy) for an hour or five.

Pic 4 Pic 5

  • GO HOME: Living away from home takes its toll and sometimes all I want to do is be at home in my own bed surrounded by my family. Plan to go home to see your family and friends – it will be exactly what you need (because who doesn’t love a good home cooked meal).

Pic 6To minimise the effects of stress be organised and create a weekly planner of exactly what you need to have done and when you need to have it done by (INCREDIBLY HELPFUL WHEN ASSESSMENT IS DUE). By finding what relaxes you and how to handle and minimise stress, you will live a happy and healthy life!

Remember: Stressed spelt backwards is desserts – eat a bunch of desserts!

This entry was posted in Ashley, McGregor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , by Ashley. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ashley

Hi there! My name is Ashley and I am your curly-haired, loud-talking, loves to try new things and participate in everything kind of girl. I am currently studying my second year of a Bachelor of Commerce and Bachelor of Business, majoring in Accounting, Finance and Human Resource Management (bring on the halfway mark!). I currently reside at the USQ Residential College, McGregor, and did previously last year also. Being a country girl who wanted to study at university caused me to relocate from my home, a rural south-west town, Roma – home of the largest bottle tree and rugby league greats Artie Beetson and Darren Lockyer, to what I consider a big enough smoke, Toowoomba. When I am not studying you can often find me listening to music, talking to whoever I see, having wine and cheese nights (Brie and Camembert and cheap wine only), participating in Residential Shield and other college events or catching up on sleep from late nights of studying. I started studying at USQ during Year 12 by completing the Head Start program which granted me automatic entry and credit points towards my degree, relieving the stress of QCS and assessment of that year. Having been studying externally for my Head Start program, moving to Toowoomba to study on-campus was a big change for me. Not only did I have classes, tutorials and I was able to have the full university experience – joining clubs, participating in USQ events and now working for USQ. Having moved away from home, underage still, to a town that I barely visited was an adjustment that I slowly, and still am, getting used to. I have commenced a whole new chapter of my life, which has thus far, been a great experience and I am honoured to be able to share it with you all!

Leave a Reply

