The formalities of McGregor College

It’s the day! You have the perfect dress. You know exactly how you are going to have your hair. You know exactly when you are doing everything. You are ready for one of the best nights of your life! Being a college resident gives you the best opportunities to spend time with your friends, especially at the semi-formal and formal. But, it’s not what you think.

During the first semester we enjoy the semi-formal. This year the theme for our semi-formal was Superheros and Villains. The costumes ranged from witches to avengers and from ninja turtles to Steve Irwin – it was quite the sight to see. Throughout the night, a number of proceedings took place ranging from residents getting silly awards to the photo booth being used. Not only do you have photographic evidence of what exactly happened that night but you get the best three-course meal you will ever have in your time at college. Not only do you create some of the best memories, you get to do it with all your friends.

pic 1pic 2
I bet you are thinking that formal is exactly like your school formal; that you have to be dolled up to the nines and have to wear your ball gowns. It is nothing like your school formal – it is much more relaxed. Yes, you have to wear a formal dress but it can be any type of formal dress. Men, however, you will be required to have your yearly shower around this date because you have to at least smell nice. Both last year, the year before and again this year, I have worn the same formal dress – started at Year 12 and now we are here. Moral of the story – wear what you have. Again, you get one of the best meals of your college experience – chicken or steak, anyone? Not only do you get to dress up and sit at a table with all your friends, it is the chance to honour those who are graduating, welcome the new RSC and congratulate outstanding residents. It is honestly one of the most fun nights, I have experienced and was better than my school formal.

pic 3 pic 4

So, you are thinking about coming to college? DO IT! You get to experience so many events throughout the year, semi-formal and formal included, that allow you to enjoy time with friends and enjoy a great night organised by fantastic people. Hopefully, I will see you at the next ones.

This entry was posted in Ashley, McGregor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , by Ashley. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ashley

Hi there! My name is Ashley and I am your curly-haired, loud-talking, loves to try new things and participate in everything kind of girl. I am currently studying my second year of a Bachelor of Commerce and Bachelor of Business, majoring in Accounting, Finance and Human Resource Management (bring on the halfway mark!). I currently reside at the USQ Residential College, McGregor, and did previously last year also. Being a country girl who wanted to study at university caused me to relocate from my home, a rural south-west town, Roma – home of the largest bottle tree and rugby league greats Artie Beetson and Darren Lockyer, to what I consider a big enough smoke, Toowoomba. When I am not studying you can often find me listening to music, talking to whoever I see, having wine and cheese nights (Brie and Camembert and cheap wine only), participating in Residential Shield and other college events or catching up on sleep from late nights of studying. I started studying at USQ during Year 12 by completing the Head Start program which granted me automatic entry and credit points towards my degree, relieving the stress of QCS and assessment of that year. Having been studying externally for my Head Start program, moving to Toowoomba to study on-campus was a big change for me. Not only did I have classes, tutorials and I was able to have the full university experience – joining clubs, participating in USQ events and now working for USQ. Having moved away from home, underage still, to a town that I barely visited was an adjustment that I slowly, and still am, getting used to. I have commenced a whole new chapter of my life, which has thus far, been a great experience and I am honoured to be able to share it with you all!

Leave a Reply

