Give back, and that’s that

Pic 1You are given two lemons, but are asked to make orange juice – how does that even work? A Good Samaritan gives you two oranges instead. Numerous things in a person’s life influence who they are and what they will become. Everyone has different things going on that affect them, just as much as the next person and just like the Good Samaritan, there are always people there willing to give you a lending hand. The Samaritan volunteered the two oranges so the orange juice could be made. So many things happen in life and for me, I have found that volunteering is the best way I can give back.

This year I had the honour of being elected the President of the USQ Charity Committee. The USQ Charity Committee originally started out as a group of students from USQ Residential Colleges who worked together to raise funds for charities through facilitating events for students. Just last year, the group was opened up to all USQ students to take part in when it became a USQ Club. The response to the endeavours of the club have been amazing.

Annually, the USQ Charity Committee holds a Gala Event, the biggest fundraiser of the year, for a chosen charity – this year, it was the Pancare Foundation. The Pancare Foundation raises much needed funds for those suffering from pancreatic, liver, biliary, oesophageal and stomach cancers. This organisation was agreed upon by all members of the committee and we all worked together to make the best event possible, to get the best results for the charity.

This year’s theme to raise money for the Pancare Foundation was White Party. All guests were required to wear white (but we didn’t turn away anyone that didn’t) and participate in different events throughout the night. Our biggest fundraiser of the evening was the auction. Numerous items were auctioned, from paintings to gift packs, all with a favourable response by guests. Along with the auction, we had coin tosses and the most popular event of the evening was the toilet paper competition. Guests were required to form groups and appoint one person to be the model; the group then proceeded to decorate the model in toilet paper and the best dressed model won a prize. There were lots of laughs and it was an enjoyable night for all.

Pic 2Pic 3Pic 4Pic 5

I have been a member of the USQ Charity Committee since I started at USQ and it has been one of my most rewarding experiences. Not only am I able to meet people and attend and participate in great events, I am able to give back to charities and people by raising much needed funds. Volunteering helps gain professional experience, brings people together and allows for personal growth and self-esteem. It is a truly rewarding experience and I recommend, if you aren’t already, to join an organisation you are passionate about – something close to your heart – and volunteer. It is your chance to give back. It is your chance to make a difference.

This entry was posted in Ashley, McGregor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , by Ashley. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ashley

Hi there! My name is Ashley and I am your curly-haired, loud-talking, loves to try new things and participate in everything kind of girl. I am currently studying my second year of a Bachelor of Commerce and Bachelor of Business, majoring in Accounting, Finance and Human Resource Management (bring on the halfway mark!). I currently reside at the USQ Residential College, McGregor, and did previously last year also. Being a country girl who wanted to study at university caused me to relocate from my home, a rural south-west town, Roma – home of the largest bottle tree and rugby league greats Artie Beetson and Darren Lockyer, to what I consider a big enough smoke, Toowoomba. When I am not studying you can often find me listening to music, talking to whoever I see, having wine and cheese nights (Brie and Camembert and cheap wine only), participating in Residential Shield and other college events or catching up on sleep from late nights of studying. I started studying at USQ during Year 12 by completing the Head Start program which granted me automatic entry and credit points towards my degree, relieving the stress of QCS and assessment of that year. Having been studying externally for my Head Start program, moving to Toowoomba to study on-campus was a big change for me. Not only did I have classes, tutorials and I was able to have the full university experience – joining clubs, participating in USQ events and now working for USQ. Having moved away from home, underage still, to a town that I barely visited was an adjustment that I slowly, and still am, getting used to. I have commenced a whole new chapter of my life, which has thus far, been a great experience and I am honoured to be able to share it with you all!

Leave a Reply

